• Home
  • About us
  • Nationalgalerie
  • Projects
    • Exhibitions
    • Acquisitions
    • Preis der Nationalgalerie
  • Become a member

Preis der Nationalgalerie für junge Kunst 2002Preis der Nationalgalerie für junge Kunst 2002

Beginning with the year 2002, the Verein pursues a different policy: The prize money is divided into a cash award of 25,000 Euros and a sum of 25,000 Euros for the purchase of a work by the award recipient which is to be integrated into the collection of the Nationalgalerie.

In March 2002 the jury selected the four artists for the shortlist from among 114 submitted suggestions which, because of multiple nominations of the same artist, were reduced to 88.

The nominees
Tacita Dean, Maria Eichhorn, Michael Elmgreen & Ingar Dragset, Daniel Richter

The award recipients
Michael Elmgreen & Ingar Dragset

The first jury

Wulf Herzogenrath (Director of the Kunsthalle Bremen), Renate Wiehager (Director of the Art Collection, DaimlerChrysler, Stuttgart) and Hans-Ulrich Obrist (Curator, Musée d´Art Moderne de la ville de Paris)

The second jury
Joachim Jäger (Curator, Hamburger Bahnhof), Angela Schneider (Nationalgalerie Berlin) and Ingvild Goetz (Collection Goetz, Munich)

On June 26, 2005 the prize was presented by the State Minister for Culture Julian Nida-Rümelin to Elmgreen & Dragset.

Duration of the exhibition
May 16 to July 7, 2002

Ingar Dragset & Michael Elmgreen, award recipients in 2002